Bselected

The Power of Networking

Posted on: June 15, 2009

I have the privilege of being associated with Donna Messer of ConnectUs Canada for the past 3 months.  Donna is considered an Expert in the field of networking and her methods are truly unique.   We all know people, who know people and Donna encourages us to make a list of “who we know” and “who we want to know”.   Then, attend as many networking functions as possible and tell people “who you are”, “who you know” and “what you can do to help them”.  Yes, you heard me right “what you can do to help” because networking is about offering to help; it is how people remember you; it is how you make a lasting impression;  it is how you empower yourself.

 Now I know it sounds a little strange, and yes I was skeptical at first but I thought what the heck I’ll give it a try.  So I started to network and talk to as many people as I could telling my story and offering to help.  I volunteer my time by facilitating a one hour presentation on interviewing which I developed, I help people with their resumes and conduct mock interviews and something wonderful happened, my attitude changed;  I became inspired and motivated – people noticed.  I acquired a new outlook and a positive attitude which shows; now I attract people to me, it is awesome.  I shed my cocoon, and didn’t even know it was binding me until I started to practice the “art” of networking.  What a beautiful transformation and it gets better with every day. 

 Whether you are in-between successes, employed or own your business you will benefit from making networking a part of your daily routine.  Networking is a powerful tool and if used properly it can help you realize your goals, objectives and dreams.

 

 Lee Koren is a Professional in Human Resources with over 20 years of experience in recruitment, selection, career transition and facilitation.

3 Responses to "The Power of Networking"

Care to share the presentation on NJJ?

Val

This is a great post and very true. It’s amazing how helping people will come back to you in so many great ways. It makes you feel good, positive and energetic. I also agree that Donna is a master networker.

Well put Lee! It’s true that an amazing thing happens when you provide value to someone else…they want to reciprocate and help you. the “silver bullet” to referrals is the question “what can I do to help you?”

Leave a Reply

Take Back the Interview

Twitter Updates

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 167 other followers

Be A Star – Maximize Your Performance

Maximize Your Performance

