Bselected

Leverage the Power of Social Media

Posted on: August 7, 2009

I’m a believer, a “technically challenged” person who took the leap and ventured into the depths of social media.  Why? – because I needed a way to market myself, my talent and my website;  and I could not afford to pay big bucks to get it done.  So I reached out to a friend of mine who is a technical genius when it comes to marketing yourself on the internet and after a very enlightening conversation and a few emails I took the plunge. 

Utilizing the suggestions of my friend, I conducted my own research on  just what is available in cyberspace.  I had a few guidelines, it had to be user friendly – you see at this point I am still “technically challenged” –  and of course it had to be free.    Inquiring minds want to know and I wanted to know which sites are rated the best, which sites are highly recommended and which sites I could leverage to my full advantage.  And guess what?  I found it –  amazing what a person can do when she sets her mind to it. 

I already have a profile on LinkedIn so I modified it by taking advantage of the free applications offered.   In my opinion LinkedIn is the best Professional  Networking tool out there.   It offers so many free perks and once you get started there is no stopping you from building a very professional profile and networking with people all over the world.    If you need to find someone in a particular industry or who works for a specific company this is the way to go – the sky is the limit.  In fact, the more active you are on LinkedIn the better – I have at least 10 invites a week to LinkIn –  people who want to know me – yep this is what it is all about.

I had created my own website but only a handful of people (friends and family) knew about it.  During my research I learned about mega tags and how important they are to enable people to find you on the web.

I set up a Blog on WordPress and linked it to my LinkedIn Profile and my website.   Blogging is the best way to let people know who you are, what you have to offer and what is important to you.

I set up a account at Digg.com – it is a social bookmarking site – a social news website where people can read about virtually every topic under the sun and vote it up or down.  Sound complicated, not really – the real value is everytime you vote on a article or comment you get free advertisement for your Blog or website.  Way Cool. 

I found a free site which links my Website, Blog, LinkedIn Profile and CV all through one URL – now really how cool is that?  Remember I am the “technically challenged” person so it is not hard to impress me and by now I am feeling very proud of myself.

Now I suppose I have to mention Twitter because it is all the “rage” – everyone is tweeting.  Well, I sent a few tweets but honestly I just can’t get the hang of it so I will reserve comment.   This site will require more research and maybe another call to my technical advisor.

Whew, I have been busy but guess what – it is working, I mean it really is working.   People are finding me, calling me, sending me emails from all over the globe.   I received a request to help an individual with his resume,  he lives in Texas, yes I know I lived there too but he found me via my website.   In the blink of an eye my international expertise is available to millions of people around the globe.

Ahh – the power of the internet, it is awesome and I’ve only scratched the surface.   There is so much more to learn and I embrace the challenge to become “technically savvy”.   I encourage everyone to dive in and catch the social medial wave.   If I can help you on your journey, let me know.  

Until next time………..have fun leveraging the power of social media.

Lee Koren is certified as a Professional in Human Resoruces (PHR).  She possesses over 20 years of international experience in recruitment, selection, career transition and facilitation.  Lee is a natural at helping professionals maximize their performance.  Visit her website at http://www.selectionstrategy.com

1 Response to "Leverage the Power of Social Media"

I’m working the social media sites to find a job!

Enjoyed reading this entry and have added you to my favourites to check in once in a while.

Leave a Reply

Take Back the Interview

Twitter Updates

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 167 other followers

Be A Star – Maximize Your Performance

Maximize Your Performance

